JESUS – I Surrender All

“Jesus called out with a loud voice, ‘Father, into your hands I commit My spirit.” (Luke 23:46)

Sometimes it seems that Jesus is a man of contradictions. Just last week I wrote how Jesus told His disciples to row out into the deep and try one more time to catch fish; now I write that the story of Jesus is a story of surrender. The strange thing is this is all true.

Jesus was completely committed to completing His mission on earth which was to die on the cross for our sins. It order to do this Jesus had to surrender His life and will to God. In the New Testament we see a lot about surrender. Mary surrendered to the will of God and said yes to the birth of Jesus. Peter dropped his nets, and surrendered his life to the man on the shore. Matthew surrendered his tax booth and followed Jesus.

When God spoke to me and led me to start these daily devotions, I fought it and told God that I could not do this, it was beyond me. Then I surrendered and the peace of God filled my spirit and I have been having the time of my life doing God’s will.

Just remember, it is hard for us to give up control; but giving up control is the only way to have the peace of God in your spirit. God’s ways are not our ways.

 

Leave a Reply

