The Table of God

“You prepare a feast for me in the presence of my enemies. You honor me by anointing my head with oil. My cup overflows with blessings.” Psalm 23:5

Psalm 23 is a Psalm of encouragement. It is a Psalm that if we read it slowly and mediate on each word we can see how much God loves us and how He wants to care for us. How He wants to be our Shepherd. David was a man that was hunted and chased before he became king. David was a man that loved the Lord. He knew His God. In Psalm 18 David says, “The Lord lives! Praise to my Rock! May the God of my salvation be exalted! He is the God who pays back those who harm me; He subdues the nations under me and rescues me from my enemies. You hold me safe beyond the reach of my enemies; you save me from violent opponents.” (Psalm 18:46-48) David knew that no matter how many enemies was chasing him, God would take care of them all.

David has the peace that passes all understanding. He knew that God would provide and he could eat at the table of the Lord’s and always be at peace. David knew that everyday God’s anointing was waiting on him as he awoke in the morning. I write many times about the peace of God that passes all understanding. I believe that the peace that David wrote about is available for us all at God’s table. All we have to do is accept it and follow Jesus.

Look unto Jesus!

 

Leave a Reply

