No Fear

“Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me. Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me.” Psalm 23:4

This is a verse that we hear more often at funerals. The NKJ version of the Bible says that, “I walk through the valley of the shadow of death.” I like the NLT version of the Bible better because it says “through the darkest valley.” I believe that God leads us through the valley of death, but I also believe that God is with us through all of our dark valleys.

God is always with us and He walks beside us in all of our trials and tribulations. To me this is very comforting. Our great shepherd cares about all areas of our life. No matter what is going on in our life, He is there. Sometimes we just need that reassurance that God is there. The shepherd’s rod and staff was for protection. Protection from all that could cause harm to the sheep. As I close my eyes, I can see a roaring lion attacking the sheep. The shepherd using His staff to protect the sheep. As the shepherd starts to fight the lion it runs off into the woods. No fear of the lion because the shepherd protects the sheep. I can see where as we go through our dark valleys, God is with us and we can have no fear. “Stay alert! Watch out for your greatest enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour.” (1 Peter 5:8) Yes, the devil is a roaring lion, but we have the victory.

“The people who walk in darkness will see a great light. For those who live in a land of deep darkness, a light will shine.” (Isaiah 9:2) This great light is Jesus Christ, our protector and Savior.

 

Leave a Reply

