Rest for Your Soul

“He lets me rest in green meadows; He leads me beside peaceful streams.” Psalm 23:2
We in America are too busy to live. Busy-ness is excessive when it throws one’s life out of balance. This being out of balance, means we neglect the important things in life. We may ask, what are the important things in life? For each of us we have to answer that question for ourselves. In my case, the important things in life are God, my family and my community. Yes, all of this keeps me busy. The important thing is that we don’t forget that we are spiritual beings and we need time to be alone with God. If we neglect a time alone with God, our life becomes out of balance.

In my case God will not let me go long without spending times with Him. I sometime let life get in the way of God and it is then that God leads me to rest in green meadows. He leads me to clear my mind of all the clutter. To take out my Bible and just start reading. He leads me to mediate on His Words and what He is trying to tell me. He reminds me that I need to listen to that still small voice telling me He has everything under control. I just need to rest in Him.

Jesus tells us, “Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.” (Matthew 11:29-30)
Do you need that rest? Come to Jesus and He will give you rest for your soul.

 

Leave a Reply

