The Lord is my Shepherd

“The Lord is my shepherd; I have all that I need.” Psalm 23:1

Psalm 23 was written more than three thousand years ago, but it is still one of the most quoted and most read Psalm. This Psalm is a Psalm that bring peace and comfort to all that read it. It is a Psalm that shows the character of the God that loves and cares for us.

In this Psalm, God is called a Shepherd, a keeper of the sheep. David had himself been a keeper of the sheep, and understood both the needs of the sheep and the many cares of a shepherd. David compares himself to a creature weak, defenseless, and foolish, and he takes God to be his provider, preserver, director and indeed, his everything. David knows for sure that God is his shepherd. He does not say that God is the shepherd of the world. He tells that God is his shepherd. Just as we have been renewed in our relationship with God through Jesus Christ, we can say God is my shepherd. How comforting is this word “my”. If He is no one elses’ shepherd, God is my shepherd. He cares for me, watches over me, and preserves me. The words are in present tense. Not in the past, or in the future, but now. God is now in this present time. He is my shepherd.

David tells us that he has all that he needs because the shepherd provides everything. He provides food to eat, water to drink and a place to lay down that is safe from harm. How much more could we need. How much more could we ask for from a God that loves us and cares for us.

Can you say that God is your shepherd? He can be if you will just ask Him into your heart today.

 

Leave a Reply

