Give it all to God


“Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30)

As we approach a new year, it is a time of reflection. It is a time when we can look back on what we have accomplished or what we have not accomplished. It is a time we need to look at the New Year and see what we want to accomplish in this coming year.

I have been writing these devotions for close to ten years. Sometimes they flow and there is no doubt about what I should write.

Then at times, it takes much prayer and soul searching about what I need to write.

My goal is to write what God wants not what I want.

I want my writings to flow out of what God is doing in my life.

My life at this time is all about this scripture. It is about trying to carry a heavy burden and I am weary.

God is telling me the key to walking with Him is doing His will.

We must learn to give it all to God.

We must let Him teach us.

We must be yoked with Him, allowing God to carry the burden.

My goal for this year is to give God the control that He wants in my life.

My goal is to write nothing that doesn’t come from my rest in Him.

Our culture teaches that action and accomplishments are better than rest, that doing something, anything is better that doing nothing. Because of our desire to succeed, to meet these ever growing expectations, we do not rest.

Because we do not rest, we lose our way.

We bypass the nourishment and wisdom, God and rest can give us.

We miss the joy and love born out of effortless delight.

We miss the peace and the rest that God wants to give us. Because we are not totally committed to God and we don’t have the faith in God that we should.

We think that we have to help God do His work. Most of the time, God is telling us if we just take our hands off, He will take care of the problem and give us rest.

Rest is the results of believing that all those things we work so hard to acquire, He is! He is our righteousness, our perfection, justification and wisdom, our acceptance, identity, salvation.

He is our all in all. If only we can come to believe this, then we can accept His offer of entering into His rest.

Leave a Reply

