Reasons to see Jesus

What was the request of the Greeks?
“We would see Jesus.”
Notice, they were not saying, “We would like to see the beautiful temple,” or “We would like to have an audience with the high priest, Caiaphas.”
I hope you don’t come to church just to see a beautiful building or hear the choir or look at stained glass windows. There are many beautiful cathedrals, especially in Europe, but many of them, even though they are beautiful, are empty of people. I hope you came here, saying, as the Greeks did, “Sir, we would see Jesus.”

Why should we want to see Jesus?
There are so many reasons, but I will list a few here:
♥ “Only Jesus can save his people from their sins.
Salvation is found in no one but Jesus, the eternal Son of God, the sinless Lamb of God.
It is this Jesus who asked his disciples, “Who do you say I am?” The answer came by divine revelation:
“You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.”
It is this Jesus concerning whom the Father said at his baptism, “This is my Son whom I love; with him I am well pleased” (Matthew 3:17)
It is this Jesus about whom God spoke again on the Mount of Transfiguration, saying, “This is my Son whom I love; with him I am well pleased. Listen to him.” That is why we must say with the Greeks, “Sir, we would see Jesus.”

  1. “Jesus is the Messiah. He made this profound
    statement to the sinful Samaritan woman in (John 4:25-26) “I am he,” he told her, meaning, “I am the Messiah.”
    There is no other messiah, no other savior, no other
    deliverer. That is why we must say, “Sir, we would see Jesus.”

  2. “Jesus is the living bread. In (John 6:51) Jesus declared,
    “I am the living bread which came down from heaven,” meaning, “I am the living bread for your soul, the one who came down from heaven. Others ate manna in the wilderness and died, but I have come down from heaven as the living Bread to make you alive.” So we can say, “Sir, we would see Jesus, because he alone is the living Bread.”

  3. “Jesus alone is from above. Jesus came down from
    heaven, from the bosom of the Father, to die on the
    cross for our sins. That is why we say, “Sir, I want to
    see Jesus.”

  4. “Jesus is the eternal one. In (John 8:58) Jesus said,
    “Before Abraham was, I am.” That means he is the
    eternal one, meaning he is God himself.

  5. “Jesus is the light of the world. In (John 8:12) Jesus says, “I am the light of the world.” The world is darkness. Not only is it in darkness, but it is darkness. And Jesus says, “I am the light of the world.”

  6. “Jesus is the Son of God. We find this reference to Jesus throughout the gospel accounts as well as the rest of the New Testament.

  7. “Jesus is the resurrection and the life, the beginning and the end. In (John 11:25) Jesus told Martha, “I am the resurrection and the life,” meaning eternal life is found in him alone. In Revelation 1 the resurrected Christ tells us, “I am the Alpha and the Omega. I am the First and the Last.”

  8. “Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life. He is the only way to the Father.”

These are but a few reasons why we should want to see Jesus.

That is why, when a minister begins to preach, we should say, “Pastor, don’t preach about yourself. Don’t tell us stories. Don’t talk about health or wealth or fame or philosophy or politics. Sir, we would see Jesus!”

What about you? Do you want to see Jesus? I hope you do. And if you really see him, I guarantee you that your life will change. You will be transformed from a sinner to a saint and brought out of death and darkness into life and light. That is why we want to see Jesus.

Leave a Reply

