Trust the process

One of my favorite things to do when I have things on my mind and need to decompress is to go for a drive. It’s also a great way to have some
uninterrupted alone time with God.
Tonight was one of those nights I needed to get away with Him and have a talk. Let’s be real-trials have a way of wearing you out, wearing you down.. some trials are so heart wrenching you feel you may not ever recover from them. David said it like this “I am worn out waiting for your rescue.. My eyes are straining to see your promises come true. When will you comfort me?”-
(Psalm 119:81-82)
As I was driving tonight, pouring out my heart, He
spoke to me and said “Trust the process. I’m molding you.”
Now my flesh would have liked for Him to say
“Ok, I’m going to pull you out of the storm, deliver
you from all your troubles and everything will be
alright.” Wouldn’t that be nice? But no, that isn’t what
He said. “Trust the process.” You mean it’s not over
yet Lord?! You mean there’s more?!
But just as a potter molds clay, it’s a process. .. Behold, as the clay is in the potters hand, so are ye in mine hand..-
(Jeremiah 18:6)
Only one thing can shape a vessel on a potter’s
wheel, and that’s pressure. Pressure applied by the
potter’s hands. It takes pressure to smooth it and
shape it into what the potter desires it to be. And only the potter knows what will become of it. Without
pressure applied it would stay a lump of clay-
unusable, wasted.

The pressure causes it to reach it’s full potential. And so I thought to myself “Ok Lord,
maybe we could speed the process up just a little?”
But there are different types of vessels. Some small
and some large. I had to ask myself-what kind of
vessel do I want to be? It could be a quick process
and while I would still be a vessel shaped by the
potter, I would miss out on exactly what He’s trying to
mold me into. I would miss out on my full potential. I
would miss out on the perfecting process He’s taking
me through. A small vessel is still a vessel, but it can
only hold so much, it can only be used for so much.
So while a larger vessel takes more time and goes
through a more painstaking process-the end result is
worth it.

He tell us in (Isaiah 48:10) – Behold, I have refined thee, but not with silver; I have chosen thee in the furnace of affliction. The heat and the pressure the clay endures are not comfortable or enjoyable. The potter doesn’t inflict those things upon the clay for no
reason.

The potter knows those things are necessary
to create a vessel that will be usable. As He spoke
these things to me tonight, my prayer was this-Lord
don’t let me rush the process and miss out on what
You’re doing in me. Don’t let me miss out on the
refining process. It may not be comfortable, it may
not be enjoyable-but I want to be a vessel that is
filled with You. Filled up to my full potential. Don’t let
me take the easy way out and miss out on what You
have for me.

Whatever you may be going through-trust the
process. Let Him mold you into a vessel for His glory!

But now, O Lord, thou art our father; we are the clay,
and thou our potter; and we all are the work of thy
hand – (Isaiah 64:8)

Leave a Reply

