Confession in the Bible: Verses About Confessing Your Sins

FeaturedResource-2

Topic: Forgiveness, Repentance, Sin

When many people hear ‘confessing your sin’,
they think it reserved for monks in
a monastery or of paying penance to God by
entering a church confessional.

But Scripture teaches us it is an important
practice for the life of every Christian. The
answers to these questions about confession
in the Bible may surprise you:

What does the Bible say about confession?

What will happen if you don’t confess your
sins?

Psalm 32 offers us several powerful reasons to
confess our sins and shows us the
consequences of unconfessed sin. David felt
weak and was miserable when he did not
confess. Verses 3-4 says, “ For when I kept
silent, my bones wasted away through
my groaning all day long. For day and night
your hand was heavy upon me; my strength
was dried up as by the heat of summer. ”

Before confessing his sin, David was
exhausted. Why?

The life was being drained
out of him by sin. If you do not weaken sin, it
saps your spiritual strength, it weakens you.
When I see a sin forming in my life, I must
say, “If I’m to serve Christ, I dare not let this
grow! It’ll drain the life out of me…”

Why should you confess your sins?

In addition to avoiding the negative effects of
unconfessed sin, biblical confession is a way to
experience more of God’s grace. Biblical
confession should be in some ways a joy due
to the rich benefits God gives us through it.

1 John 1:9 says, “If we confess our sins, he is
faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to
cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

This does not mean that God will only forgive
a sin only if it has been specifically confessed.

When a Christian repents and believes the
Gospel of Jesus Christ, all of their sins, past,
present, and future are immediately forgiven!
Confessing is part of the sanctification process
and aids Christians in dealing with sin and
healing from it. James 5:16 says, “ Therefore
confess your sins to each other and pray for
each other so that you may be healed. The
prayer of a righteous man is powerful and
effective.”

Why confess your sin if God already knows
your sin?

Christians confess their sins to God to practice
humbleness before him and to fess up to the
bad things they have done. It takes a humble
person to admit their mistakes! Humility is a
vital part of confession and aids the
restoration of Christians who have quenched
the Spirit of God. Peter in 1 Peter 5:6 says,
“Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s
mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due
time.”

A True Confession is Done in Humility with an
Attitude of Repentance

Humble yourselves, therefore, under the
mighty hand of God so that at the proper time
he may exalt you. 1 Peter 5:6
“God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the
humble.” James 4:6

“…you were made sorrowful to the point of
repentance; for you were made sorrowful
according to the will of God…For the sorrow
that is according to the will of God produces a
repentance without regret, leading to
salvation…” 2 Corinthians 7:9-10

List of Bible Verses About Confession

Blessed is the one whose transgression is
forgiven, whose sin is covered.Blessed is the
man against whom the LORD counts no
iniquity, and in whose spirit there is no deceit.

For when I kept silent, my bones wasted away
through my groaning all day long.
For day and night your hand was heavy upon
me; my strength was dried up as by the heat
of summer. Selah
I acknowledged my sin to you, and I did not
cover my iniquity;
I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the
LORD,” and you forgave the iniquity of my sin.
Selah Psalm 32:1-5

Whoever conceals his transgressions will not
prosper, but he who confesses and forsakes
them will obtain mercy. Proverbs 28:13

Therefore, confess your sins to one another
and pray for one another, that you may be
healed. The prayer of a righteous person has
great power as it is working. James 5:16

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to
forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all
unrighteousness. 1 John 1:9

Leave a Reply

